A Review of In the Darkness That’s Where I’ll Know You: The Complete Black Room Saga by Luke Smitherd

Charlie Wilkes is a 33 year old man with a tragic back story. He wakes up in a dark room completely naked and confused. The last thing he remembers is being out drinking with some co workers and then he blacked out. As he gets his bearings a screen turns on in front of him and he’s seeing a view through what appears to be someone else’s eyes. As he watches this person begin to get ready, he realizes it is a female. He talks out loud to himself and this startles her. He discovers that he is not just naked in a movie theater of some kind, but he has somehow found himself inside a woman’s head, or at least, a physical manifestation of her head. Now he has to figure out how he got here, how he will get back to his own physical body, and what this means for himself and the woman he is inhabiting.

I would put this on my list of best books I’ve ever read. For much of this book you are immersed in the thoughts and inner monologue of Charlie Wilkes. Because it is so well written, I found myself feeling what Charlie felt: his thoughts, his fears, his insecurities, his disappointments and longings, and I fell in love with the two main characters, as they fell in love with each other.

This is a love story but so much more. It is also a psychological thriller and a lot of suspense. Just when I thought I knew what was going to happen I was surprised to discover the novel taking a much different turn that was even better than I possibly could have imagined.

To say I love this book is an understatement. I will buy a physical copy of this book for my own collection and I look forward to more of what this writer has to offer.

Leave a Reply

