A Review of The Martian by Andy Weir

Mark Watney is the 17th person to set foot on Mars. Not exactly the highest honor. But thanks to a set of unforeseen circumstances and a huge martian dust storm, he is the first person in history to be stranded on mars and the first person who has to learn to survive.

This is a survival tale like no other and I was kept on the edge of my seat the whole time. Mark Watney is a survivor but he runs into problems at every turn and has to invent ways to get through them. This book is full of science and science jargon but it is beautifully written in a compelling way that any layman can understand. And unlike most scientific accounts for anyone outside the science field, it is interesting. There was never a time where I felt bored. In fact, I was wishing I had more time to dive back into this story every time I had to put it down.

My only real criticism is that I wish Andy Weir had included an epilogue with a short account of his return to earth, reuniting with his parents and what happened to Mark Watney. Like, did he go back to space?

This is a great read and I highly recommend it to everyone.

Leave a Reply

