A Review of The Road by Cormac McCarthy

The Road is the account of a man and his son after the world and most of the human race is destroyed. They plod along searching abandoned houses for food, clothing, and blankets as they make their way to the west coast in the dead of winter. The lack of food, animals have either not survived or been hunted to extinction, has turned some people to cannibalism. So they must avoid other people too, since they don’t know who is a bad guy.

This book doesn’t have a lot of action. It is mainly about this father and son living on the brink of death, just surviving. It is packed with emotions and how this pair respond to each other, how their relationship evolves and changes through these shared experiences.

I really liked this book but I ended it feeling really depressed . The Road has no nope throughout. Even during the few good parts you still feel like it’s only fleeting and they are constantly on the precipice of death. It’s quite heartbreaking. The things humanity has resorted to is extremely alarming and makes you wonder if there are any good people left.

The Road is excellent if you are looking for a depressing post apocalyptic read. It makes you question yourself and what you would do if you found yourself starving and there’s no food in sight. I give this one a 5 out of 5. I struggled with the rating only because it was so incredibly hopeless. I ended up deciding that was the intent of the story and gave it a 5 star rating anyway.

6 thoughts on “A Review of The Road by Cormac McCarthy

  1. I think the whole point of The Road is that it’s supposed to be depressing. A Dystopian novel where there is truly no way out. How did you find the fact it completely omitted punctuation? It infuriated me, but I suppose it’s a good metaphor to show that literally everything in the McCarthy’s world has changed. Have you seen the film? If not, you should. It’s much more “enjoyable” than The Road (I think the story flows better, but it’s by no means happier!). I did a film review of it here: https://readandreview2016.wordpress.com/2016/05/18/what-i-watched-wednesday-the-road/ in case you’re interested. Thanks! 🙂

    Like

    1. The lack of punctuation didn’t really bother me. What bothered me was the lack of chapter breaks. I don’t have time to read a book all in one sitting so books that lack chapter breaks are really hard for me. I have seen the film adaptation. I watched it when it first came out. It was the reason I wanted to read the book. Though it was depressing I definitely felt like it worked better as a movie than a book. I did enjoy both but enjoyed the movie more.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I definitely know what you mean about chapter breaks. I had to sort of read a “chunk” at a time, whatever that was. I think the lack of punctuation and chapter breaks are to show how the conventions of literature that we know and love are gone, just like the rest of society as we know it has broken down.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It was effective but I think it still is bothersome to those who love to read and are used to a certain way of writing. I would still recommend it because it is a step outside of the normal writing style. House of Leaves was very stylistic like that. The writing style helped tell the story.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. House of Leaves is really creepy. I did a review on it if you want to check it out. All my reviews are spoiler free. It’s a horror story about a house with a dark history. The house keeps changing and the family is coming unhinged. It’s really good, really creepy and I highly recommend it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

