A Review of The Stone Man by Luke Smitherd

Andy Pointer is reporter with a form of autism called asberger’s. This means he doesn’t get along with people very well or read social cues. He’s out looking for his next big break when fate seems to hand it to him on a silver platter in a catastrophic way.

A man made of what appears to be solid stone shows up in his town in the very Plaza he is in and he seems to have some kind of mental connection to it. The military is calling it caementum.

Andy must find a man he is mentally drawn to and together they must aid the military in finding out what’s going on and who is behind it. They need to figure out what to do before caementum causes more chaos and destruction.

This is a very slow burn book. It has a lot of build up with very little action til nearly the end of the book. It is wrought with emotion but never fully pulls the reader in. The main character is not very likeable as his actions are mostly selfish and even the supporting character who has taken the moral high ground ends up as the most selfish character in the book.

This novel is a bit wordy and some parts seemed like rambling which took me out of the story because I found myself getting bored. It seemed very predictable but actually I was completely surprised by the ending. It did make me think about what my own actions would be were I faced with my own mortality and I really enjoy books that make me think.

I would recommend this book to those who like slow build up and lots of dialog. Overall I would give this book a 4 out of 5 as I really enjoyed the ending.

Leave a Reply

