A Review of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling

This is the only book in the Harry Potter series that I hadn’t read previously. The first time I read these books was in the order they were coming out so I had to wait. When Deathly Hallows finally came out we didn’t have kindles and discount pre-orders. It was hard cover and it was $40. It was way out of my budget. So 10 years later I was finally able to reread the series in my book club and find out what happened to some of my favorite characters.

The Deathly Hallows starts out fast and to the point. I don’t want to give away any plot points because I feel like it addresses things that happened at the end of Half Blood Prince and if you haven’t read the end of that one then I don’t want to spoil anything for you. In this volume we become more acquainted with the death eaters, we learn more about Voldemort, and we learn some very surprising things about some characters we’ve already met.

The whole ride was emotional from start to finish. I think I needed at least half a box of tissues to get through the thing. One thing I can say that won’t give away too much is that there is a very long drawn out part where Harry, Ron, and Hermione are searching for Horcruxes and it seems to go on forever without a whole lot of plot happening. Just a lot of bickering and talking about weather. For me, that was the only thing that really lost me. Otherwise, I think it was one of the longest in the series and it took me the shortest amount of time to read. I couldn’t put it down.

Like Half Blood Prince, there were a lot of twists and turns. Sometimes I thought I had everything figured out only to realized I was completely wrong. I can’t wait to reread the entire series again with the knowledge I have about the outcome of the entire thing so I can compare what I know to what’s going on.

I really did love this book. I was incredibly satisfied with how everything unfolded. The entire series was wrapped up in a pretty pink bow. It did end abruptly, though there was an epilogue. I wish there was more of what happened directly after the Battle of Hogwarts. The epilogue is 19 years later and I feel kind of let down that we didn’t at least get one more chapter that talked about rebuilding and moving on from everything that happened.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this book. I gave it a 5 out of 5 and if possible I would’ve given it like a 12 out of 5. It was probably my favorite book of the whole series.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

