A Review of Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Nick and Amy started out with the perfect life. Beautiful man meets beautiful woman and falls in love. They date, the get married, but their happily ever after doesn’t seem so happily ever after, after all. Job loss and financial problems take their toll and their relationship begins to unravel. Things aren’t good between them on their 5th anniversary when Amy goes missing after an attempt at a nice crepe breakfast. All signs point to foul play and Nick is the primary suspect. All he has is the beginning clue of their annual anniversary treasure hunt to begin to unravel what could have happened to his wife.

The first thing I want to say about this book is that it is too long. It is incredibly wordy and this made the book really hard to get through at times, tedious even. Also, the characters are all utterly unlikeable. All of them. Just when you think you have a glimmer of hope for one of them, another turn of events makes you hate them. They have no redeeming qualities. This is truly a cautionary tale of what a relationship should not be. I have never seen a more unhealthy relationship than Nick and Amy’s. And to me, the worst part is that I think the author was trying to go for some sort of bizarrely romantic ending and it was the opposite of that. I finished this book seriously disgusted.

The first half of the book was really slow. I would say it is the 2nd half the picks up but not until the last third that I became really interested and finished it in one setting. With that said, this book is a rollercoaster of events. I had the plot spoiled for me while I was reading but even with the main plot spoiled there were still a bunch more twists and turns. Just when I thought I had a grasp on what was happening something would happen to make me completely rethink it. And despite hating the characters, a small part of me pitied them and even rooted for them a bit. I can’t explain why. I loathe them as people which is not usual for me. I normally relate to at least one character and can find something about even a loathsome character to enjoy. Not so with this story.

I would recommend this book to someone who enjoys crime thrillers. I think it is a good example of a whodunit that makes you constantly second guess yourself through out. But based on the slow burn of the plot, the overabundance of irrelevant information, and the vile nature of the characters I would have to give this one a 3 and thats being fairly generous.

Leave a Reply

