A Review of Cock and Bull by Will Self

I bought this book after reading a brief description about it on a list of “Weirdest Books You Will Ever Read”. I am a big fan of strange and bizarre. But I think I am desensitized to bizarre because I didn’t find this one all that strange.

Carol is a married woman who quickly married a man she barely knew and slept with after a drunken binge in college. Things quickly fell apart. Dan was an alcoholic, their sex life was minimal, and she was extremely unhappy with her life. Self exploration led her discover a nub growing amidst her lady bits. She learns that she is growing a penis. Bull is a big rugby player who is also unsatisfied with his life. He wants to be a sports journalist more than anything but the publication he currently works for has him going to cabarets and interviewing comedians more than anything else. After another viewing another excruciating performance and briefly having words with the comedian, Bull wakes up the next day to discover a prepubescent vagina has developed in the knee pit of his left leg. Upon going to his physician, Dr Margoulies, the doctor, who is a sex addict, falls in love with the vagina and begins pursuing Bull.

From the description I read I should have understood the nature of this book. Both stories in this book run rampant with sex and very graphic descriptions of sexual acts. The first story I read rather quickly because it is a woman’s journey of self discovery and the reader almost feels sorry for her. The second story was not as engaging and the characters were not very likeable, especially Alan Margoulies.

If you enjoy graphic sex in your novels and strange storylines then this is the book for you. I personally didn’t like it as much as I thought I would. I would give this one a 3 out of 5. I may have given it less but I did enjoy the first story, the ending in particular. It was an easy and pretty quick read. Besides misplaced anatomy this wasn’t even close to one of the weirdest books I’ve ever read.

2 thoughts on “A Review of Cock and Bull by Will Self

Leave a Reply

