A Review of Hoffman’s Creeper and other Disturbing Tales by Cameron Trost

Cameron Trost is an upcoming Australian author cutting his teeth in the horror genre. I picked this one up on recommendation from my fellow reviewer, Sharon Clarke. This anthology of horror is not your typical horror. These are accounts of the scariest monster of all, man and what he’s fully capable of. You will find everything from revenge to pure murder and tragedy.

What I liked about this book is how much the stories within reminded me of some of my favorite episodes of Twilight Zone and Tales From the Crypt. He has some tales with a kind of moral of the story ending, while some are just ironic. One of my favorite stories in the book “The Stench”. This one is about a man with a really jerky neighbor and how he is finally dealt with. I don’t want to give anything away but it has a great ending. The very first story in the anthology is called “Not to be Read” and reminds me a lot of the writing of Edgar Allen Poe. Another great thing about Trost’s work is that in every single story I was sure I had predicted the outcome and every single time I was surprised and wrong. I love that.

The only thing I really didn’t like about his stories are the fact that they are almost all cut off abruptly without any kind of resolution. In a way this is good because it leaves what happens next up to your imagination. So, it’s not really a bad thing as much as it is a preference in writing style. I like to find out what happens next.

I give this one a 5 out of 5. Cameron Trost is a great writer that I would put up there with Edgar Allen Poe and HP Lovecraft. I think that the scariest parts of his books are the things you don’t see or know as your imagination can send you to some dark and scary places. His stories are definitely the old fashioned kind to leave you peeking over your shoulder and retelling to your friends in the dark. I highly recommend this book to fans of the horror genre.

2 thoughts on “A Review of Hoffman’s Creeper and other Disturbing Tales by Cameron Trost

Leave a Reply

