A Review of The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

Gilead is a postwar society that assigns women very specific jobs. Some of these jobs include handmaids and marthas. A very small percentage become wives to the men in higher power positions. Offred is a handmaid. She is nothing more than a vessel. Because she is deemed one of the few fertile women after the affects of nuclear fallout she has 3 chances to conceive a child with the Commander in charge of her household, so that his wife may adopt this child and become a mother. In Gilead, women are no more than property and functioning machines.

I think this book is relevant to today. Especially when they describes the political ideology. It is extremely well written and the author has a firm grasp of how to capture a reader and make them feel what the character feels. I found myself worrying about my own safety in a postwar society like this. The way the take over is described seems scary and probably to me.

This is, in fact, one of the scariest books I’ve ever read. And it left me with a feeling of hopelessness after finishing it. I hated the ending. It was extremely abrupt and the historical notes seemed like they should’ve wrapped things up better. Instead I was just left frustrated and weary of the whole think. I’m not a leave it up to your imagination type person. This book has a lot of political ideology and religion. Gilead is a society run by misconstrued political beliefs. I don’t even think the men who created this society really believed the foundation they build their new country on. I think it was a ruse to dominate women and to use them for their own purposes. In an already male dominated society, its scary to think that our rights could so swiftly be taken from us.

I enjoyed this book til the very end. I gave it a 4 out of 5. I thought the end fell apart. Atwood could’ve done so much more with such a strong plot. I look forward to watching the new series based on this book and what they may do with it. I recommend this book to everyone. I think it is a good reminder of the way things could go if we don’t keep our politicians in check and our eyes open to false doctrine.

Leave a Reply

